Telecaster build thread

New Guitar Day? Obsessed with tone? 10 on the volume dial not enough? Celestion vs. Electrovoice? Cum in, feel the noize.
Tadpui

Telecaster build thread

Post by Tadpui »

I've enrolled in a class offered by a local luthier shop to build a telecaster style guitar from scratch. I have zero experience in the tools and techniques of building a guitar or really anything, so I'm going in as a total noob. Unless watching Ted Woodford and a little bit of Stewart MacDonald on YouTube counts as experience.

Sorry no pics of anything yet, but I had my initial meeting with the guys at the guitar shop and nailed down some basics about what they're offering and what I want.

I've got an ideal in my head of what I want, so at least a lot of my decisions are already made. But there are a couple of initial disappointments but no deal breakers. The first is that the finish isn't part of the deal, other than a stain and a satin nitro finish. They'll do the butterscotch blonde gloss finish that I want for an extra $500, but this is ultimately a building class and not a finishing class. I understand. . I'll have to decide if it's worth it. I genuinely dislike natural finishes on an electric guitar, but I did see an example guitar of theirsin the natural nitro that looked better than I'd have imagined. And I saw another that's as bad as I would imagine.

The other disappointment is that they're only offering rosewood or ebony fretboards. I want maple. But the style of neck they're building isn't the fender skunk stripe kind of maple slab that I'd expect in a telecaster. The guy did pull out a maple fretboard but it didn't match well with the roasted maple neck wood that they offer. They do have non-roasted/torrified maple neck wood but I'm a little afraid of it settling weird as it ages. I dunno. I might do that anyways because it's the look I'm after.