You Are Words

Your Mom loves your mixes, but are they really up to scratch? Post your tracks here and get the community's feedback to help with the spit and polish. Impress us! We don't bite.
Alison

You Are Words

Post by Alison »

I started this song in February. Started with guitar and drums. I knew the guitar needed to be re-tracked but was waiting for my new bass to do it. Alas. . .broken arm ensued. I added piano while my arm was still in a cast so the lines are very simple. Finally got to add bass while I had a brace on my arm so, not perfect. I would love some bass suggestions from you all on bass playing (how to play, etc. . . I am a beginner)

Mostly, what I wanted to do with this is keep my hand in recording. Let it go too much and one forgets!

I figure everything needs to be re-tracked, once I can play again. Also, when I rendered this, I noticed a bunch of clipping, but nothing that showed up while I was listening back. How important is that with an un-mastered track?

Anyway, the bass line was the first effort with my new bass. . . brace and all. I am determined to keep going/playing, no matter what!!
We Are Words 37.mp3
More bass! And a few other minor changes. . .
You Are Words 417.mp3
Here is JD's version of the song and I really think he nailed it! It says JD mix but he did a LOT more than mix!
You Are Words JD Mix 1.mp3
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Alison on Tue May 02, 2023 7:11 pm, edited 2 times in total.
If I knew what I was doing, I'd be dangerous!
rayc

Re: You Are Words

Post by rayc »

1st off - clipping will constrain mastering...no biggy at this point - plenty of time to fond out what n where then address it.
Sounds like a new bassist's mix - way down low & hiding.
A cool song sketch...vocals are strong and good.
Cheers
rayc
Alison

Post by Alison »