Hey video guys! Need some advice.

The Rebels Drive-In Movie theater. A forum to share your videos, and also a place to get help with making videos from our upstanding rebel experts.
Lt. Bob

Hey video guys! Need some advice.

Post by Lt. Bob »

Going to new Orleans next week.
Planning on taking a buncha vids during the week ...... some touristy stuff and some simply putting it on a tripod and recording a gig with my daughter.
I'll be using my Zoom Q3 ....

It offers four choices:
720 60 fps
1080 30 fps
WVGA 60
WVGA 30

Now ..... in a technical sense I understand 1080 vs 720 and I understand what 30 fps and 60 fps means.

But I have zero practical experience with it .... have never really done much of any videoing and I've never looked at much vids either so I'm totally ignorant of this stuff. don't know if the advantages of 60 fps versus 30 fps outweigh the advantage of 1080 over 720.

I won't be videoing sports or anything fast .... just people walking or playing guitar or singing.
I know 60fps will give me a smoother vid but I also know 1080 will give higher quality imaging.
But I don't know if better pic quality is minimal while better fps makes a larger difference or the 720 quality is good enough so the faster fps is the better choice.

And I don't even know what the hell WVGA even is.
I do see that it uses less data as I have 5 and a half hours time on my card with 720 60fps and over 8 hours with WVGA 60 but I don't know how much I pay in quality for that extra time.
Based on data I should go with WVGA but does it suck?
Would that be a mistake?
Dunno

It may well be that any of these are perfectly sufficient for what I'm gonna do and so I should just look for the longest recording time per card.
But it may also be one of these is flat out the best or another is horrible and should be avoided so I'm asking the question.

help a brother out
CrowsofFritz

Re: Hey video guys! Need some advice.

Post by CrowsofFritz »