ISO delay recommendations

DIY Studio Stuff
vomitHatSteve

ISO delay recommendations

Post by vomitHatSteve »

So I've got an Electra analog delay pedal.

It's kind of a piece of crap because I've been beating it to death for the last 15 years. But, my friend who runs a guitar store tells me they're pretty valuable, and Reverb agrees with him. $125 for one in good condition. $65 for a broken one!

Mine works, but the LED has slipped out of place, the knobs are a little floaty, and now the footswitch is starting to fail. I'm not super attached to this thing, so I'm probably just gonna swap it out. So what delays do you guys like?
The one feature that I really need in a delay (besides being functional) is for the feedback knob to go above 1 and for the pitch to shift as you change the repeat speed (a la, basically every analog delay in the world)
WhiskeyJack
Site Admin

Re: ISO delay recommendations

Post by WhiskeyJack »

Paging at Dr. @liv_rong
:happytrees:
Tadpui

Post by Tadpui »

I've only ever owned one delay, the JHS Panther Cub. I like it but don't necessarily love it. I feel like the shortest delay time isn't quite short enough, and the "mix" seems a little too sensitive. And it has a tendency to "run away" when I make just the wrong sound on my guitar. But it's a great sounding analog delay, lots of character to it.

I briefly played with a JHS 3 Series delay at the shop a couple of weeks ago and I thought it sounded nice. Just your basic no-frills analog delay.
Greg_L

Post by Greg_L »

TC Flashback. It's the only one I have so I can recommend it but nothing else.

It does about a million different things and will do all sorts of weird ass shit.
Rebel Yell
SweetDan

Post by SweetDan »

Caline "Blue Ocean". Supposedly a clone of Mad Professor's "Deep Blue Delay". It does the glitchy infinite loop and pitch tweaking thing you want, and is cheap.
awesome youtube comment of the day