Recording computer makeover

General recording topics.
Tadpui

Recording computer makeover

Post by Tadpui »

All of the computer talk around here has had me itching to do some much-needed upgrades to my recording computer lately. Finally I've been returned to my full salary at work, so I didn't hesitate to pull the trigger on a few much-needed improvements to my audio/video editing and gaming swiss army knife of a computer.

First was the case. I've been using a 4-space rackmount server chassis for several years now. It's been great, and it's a perfect fit for a studio with available rack spaces. The problem is that it's terrible for air flow. Once I upgraded my CPU to a 12 core 24 thread 4.1 GHz beast and stuck a gaming-oriented GPU in there, the heat was too much to deal with unless I cranked up my fans and made a bunch of noise in the process. So I bought a traditional desktop case (the be quiet! Pure Base 500dx) so I could have a more workable airflow setup. The case came with 3 140mm fans that do a great job at quietly moving a substantial amount of air through the case. My CPU and GPU are much happier now, and my case is WAY more quiet with this cooling setup.

Next was the power supply. Mine has actually been blinking out on me every once in a while. Total shutdown without warning when the system was under too heavy of a load. So I upgraded to a Thermaltake Toughpower GF1 850W 80+ Gold power supply. It's got a smart fan setup, so the fan doesn't run until it's under a really heavy load, so it stays silent unless I'm doing something like rendering or transcoding video or playing a game that's stressing out my GPU and CPU.