Project Organisation

General recording topics.
JD01

Project Organisation

Post by JD01 »

Just wondering how everyone else does it really. Any of you similar to me? Anyone do anything wildly differently? Anyone got any tips on how you think I could do things better.

Basically, Track 1 is my room 'verb - this is set 100% wet, 0% dry. Its also hi-passed at over 200hz - I don't want anything really deep getting much verb.
Track 2 is my drum buss - the various kit parts in here all have a send to the room 'verb
Then I have my bass - this is on its own, its not sent to reverb.
Then I have my master guitar buss - I call this my "all guitars meter" there's no effects on this - its just a way of me monitoring the guitar levels as a whole so I can see volume jumps between sections of a song. Its basically completely passive.
Within this I have all the sub-busses for the different guitar parts.
The Buss tracks are just for levelling and EQing as a whole, balancing the levels of the various guitar tracks against eachother - when I have them right I can balance them against the bass and the drums using the "All Guitars Meter"
The panning and individual levels of each track are set on the tracks themselves as you can see. Also, each track has a send of a varying amount to Track 1 - the room verb.

I do the same for vocals, there's an "All Vox Meter" with similar sub-busses. There's just no vocals on this track yet!

What do you do?
Project Organisation.JPG
A complex vocal buss would look like this:
Vocal Buss.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
WhiskeyJack
Site Admin

Re: Project Organisation

Post by WhiskeyJack »

Found the guitar player. :k:

Truthfully i sort of do it roughly the same except my drums are at the bottom / end and i try to make use of colors. I'll take a snap when i get a break here.
:happytrees:
JD01

Post by JD01 »

WhiskeyJack wrote: Thu Apr 09, 2020 4:59 pm Found the guitar player. :k: