So, if effects pedals are snake oil, I'm getting lots of practice wrangling snakes

DIY Studio Stuff
SweetDan

So, if effects pedals are snake oil, I'm getting lots of practice wrangling snakes

Post by SweetDan »

I mentioned in another thread I really liked the sound of a few pedals I built arranged in a certain order (a boost pushing a fuzz), and that I was trying to learn enough electronics theory to be able to combine the two circuits into one. I've been puttering away at that project for a few months, and I've finally gotten to a tangible result: a working pedal with that combined effect circuit. Pics below, tones forthcoming (have to put away the soldering iron, wire clippers, etc., clear off the table, get set up for recording, etc.).

First, the essential bit: the circuit. This isn't actually the first working version, which was on a breadboard. But it is the first version which could be installed into an enclosure:
circuitComplete.jpg
Wiring things off the board onto bits and pieces in the enclosure is my least favorite thing to do, so I built the circuit with the vol/tone pots soldered to the circuitboard itself:
circuitCompleteBackside.jpg
Lots of work up to this point, but these are the all the major parts ready to be connected:
partsPreWiring.jpg
When starting to wire things up, one of the first things to do is to get the small, fiddly bits out of the way. Specifically, the indicator LED, and a couple small connections to pins on the foot switch:
indicatorLed.jpg
powerToIndicatorLed.jpg
switchShortWires.jpg
Leaving your enclosure looking like this:
wiringStart.jpg
(With that, I'm going to start a 2nd post in this thread for the rest of the pics; don't know how much longer my luck w/attachments will hold out...)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
awesome youtube comment of the day
Lol it's still less satanic than whatever rituals Katie Perry and Taylor Swift do in their performances. πŸ˜‚
SweetDan