Mutt*Pups. FAQ

More bark, more bite, more licks for your tone. Get your custom wound pickups from "Mutt's dog house", our resident hound and luthier extraordinaire...

Moderator: muttley

muttley

Mutt*Pups. FAQ

Post by muttley »

OK guys and gals, many of you know me from old and other forums so whats all this Mutt*Pups thing about?

Who is Mutt?

As a guitar builder I have always looked for ways to make the instruments I make both better and more unique. One of the ways to achieve that is to make as many of the components by hand and to your own design and specification. For years I used pickups that were made by others and it always seemed to me that if you spent a lot of time selecting and working the timber and designing every little detail of the main body of the guitar why would you then cast all that aside and fit an off the shelf pickup or pickups?

What does he do?

With that in mind I started on the quest to take more control of the pickups and how best to "pull out" the sound of the guitar that is in there that just needs to be released. I started making pickups for archtop jazz guitars because that was mostly what I was building at the time and still do. The choice of pickups on the market was small and largely pretty bland. That led me to winding my own pickups and exploring the wonderful world of pickup design.

Today I wind and build pickups for just about any guitar and am happy to discuss what needs you may have or put together a set that will work together. All the specs on the pickups you will see here can be changed and that's what I do. Make changes to the design and specifications so that you get what you want.

How do I get my Paws on a Mutt*Pup?

Post up a thread if you want to discuss putting together a pickup that suits your guitar and your ears and not one that suits the manufacturing method and costs of a faceless factory..

Why is this Forum here and not in the general Market place?